Brainstorming

August 6, 2008

Okay, we need to get a few things figured out.  First up, what’s our name going to be?  If we go with Blue Nation I suspect we can solve the URL problem by finding an unoccupied permutation such as Blue-Nation or some such.  Maybe www.blue-nation.org or something.  After we establish a name for the site we need to figure out who’s going to run it.  MS01 Indie, aka “John” has said we can make use of his good offices in this matter.  If his offer still stands I say we take him up on it.

Next up, who’s doing what?  I would suggest we vote on our leadership, perhaps five people to get us started.  I would think that five moderators should be sufficient (more than sufficient, actually) in keeping the place sane at first.  I think there’s probably something special for each of us that helps to found this place, but realistically we can’t all be chiefs.  There wouldn’t be any indians.  I think we should have a vote, with nominations and so forth.

We also need a mission statement.  I think I have an idea of where we should go with this:

Blue-Nation.org exists so that we can work together to further the Democratic agenda.  As progressives we believe that the government can be a force for good in America.  We will fundraise for candidates who share our vision, try to get out the vote for those candidates, and do our part to educate the public on issues of importance.  This will be a website that cherishes free speech, though not anarchy.

Or something to that effect.  So I guess what I’m hoping for is an agreement on a name in this thread and some names tossed around for our leadership.  I expect we could probably call these first leaders a sort of ad-hoc leadership council.  Once we get up and running we should probably hold elections or something with a larger membership.  I think we should make this a democratically run site, meaning that if the members (or trusted members or some such) are manifestly unhappy with how the site is run they should be able to force the necessary changes.

Anyway, let’s get to work.

–edited by Kysen to remove link